NEWS & EVENTS    



    The Hon’ble Chief Minister Late Dr. J. Jayalalithaa had made the announcement on 20.09.2016 to establish a Centre of Excellence and 5 linked Technical Skill Development Institutes (t-SDIs) in Tamilnadu through Public Private Partnership (PPP) in collaboration with Siemens and Designtech Limited at an estimated cost of Rs.546.84 crores with state contribution of Rs 54.68 Crores from Tamilnadu Skill Development Corporation Limited.

    The Centre of Excellence (CoE) is established at MIT Campus of Anna University and the Technical Skill Development Institutes(t-SDIs) at University College Of Engineering-Kancheepuram, University College Of Engineering-Villupuram, ThanthaiPeriyar Government Institute of Technology-Vellore, Central Polytechnic College-Taramani and Murugappa Polytechnic College-Avadi.
     The main scope of the CoE and t-SDIs will include
• Improvements in college labs infrastructure by adopting the latest open technologies in engineering design, manufacturing, planning, analysis, and management to serve the needs of all industrial units irrespective of the use of the machinery and technologies.
• Skill up gradation of faculty by training
• Update course curriculum to modern industrial practices.
• Promote Research & Development and innovation for existing industries.
• Training of students to improve employability.
• Enhance the technical education institutions as modern and equipped with state of art technologies.
• Availability of trained workforce to attract industries to set up units in the state.
   In the Centre of Excellence (CoE), the following 14 laboratories are established.
              1. Product Design and Validation Laboratory
              2. Advanced Manufacturing Laboratory
              3. Test and Optimisation Laboratory
              4. Rapid Prototype Laboratory
              5. NC Programming Laboratory
              6. CNC Machine Laboratory
              7. Lift Installation and Maintenance Laboratory
              8. Electrical Laboratory
              9. Process Instrumentation Laboratory
             10. Automation Laboratory
             11. Mechatronics Laboratory
             12. Automotive Body Repair Laboratory
             13. Automotive Paint Shop Laboratory
             14. Robotics Laboratory
The laboratories are inaugurated on 10th October 2018 by our Honorable Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami


Contact Us: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.